Ohio Employment Attorney Minimum Wage Violations
Recently, a study found that of the ten most populated states in the United States, Ohio ranked 2nd. For employees who are not receiving their proper minimum wage, they may lose an average of over $3,000. That’s $3,000 of hard earned money that employers are wrongfully taking from unsuspecting employees. Thankfully, both Ohio and federal laws are in place to prevent minimum wage and overtime violations.
Ohio Revised Code 4111.13 makes it illegal for employers to not compensate employees at the state minimum wage, which in 2017 is $8.15 per hour. On the other hand, the federal minimum wage, currently set at $7.25 per hour, is governed by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Violations for either carry penalties to help deter employers from failing to compensate employees properly, but as the research shows, employers are still behaving badly.